First-Time Kegging

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Razorback_Jack

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hello all,

I have posted so many times lately that I feel like this is a self-help website! Perhaps it is...

So I’m new to kegging, have already purchased my kegs, have cleaned them, and replaced old o-rings and poppets. My beer is almost ready to keg, in the amount of two 5-gallon batches. I also have a dual-tap kegerator... EdgeStar KC3000TWIN, which I’m very excited to use! I have never worked with Co2 or a regulator and I’m understandably nervous. For sanitizing I would like to fill the keg with Starsan solution, pressurize it, and run StarSan through a picnic tap, then use that solution to sanitize siphon, etc.

So, a few questions. Your advice and help is greatly appreciated.

1. What psi should I use to pressurize with StarSan in the keg?

2. Do I first set the psi, THEN connect the Co2 tank, THEN open the regulator valve (6 o’clock), THEN attach QD to my pin lock keg on the gas post? Not sure of that order. Or should QD be connected before opening valve? I simply don’t know.

3. To pressurize keg with StarSan do I just need to let in Co2 until it stops hissing? Then remove QD and shut off valve/close tank? Then connect the picnic tap? (What order?) Again, this is just for the StarSan in keg. Not beer yet.

4. Once beer is in keg and I’m ready to pressurize, what’s my order of operation and be as detailed as possible please? When do I (a) open the regulator valve to 6 o’clock, (b) open Co2 tank all the way, (c) connect QD to my gas post, and (d) connect to kegerator line?