First Beer - Stuck at 1.012

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All, I have been brewing Mead for a few months and have attempted my first beer for my wife. It is a Cooper's international Mexican Cerveza, all you do is mix up the canned liquid malt extract with water, brew enhancer, and pitch yeast. I did everything according to instructions, except I used a brew enhancer #1 instead of #2 because I couldn't get it (#1 has no dry malt extract, just dextrose and maltodexterin, #2 has those plus dry malt extract).

Starting gravity was 1.038 which I thought was low but assume like a mead, it will go to 1.000 = 4.9% ABV. Maybe that's where I am wrong.

My cellar is around 15 - 18 degrees C, and on day three it was at 1.024, day five 1.013, day 7 1.013 still..... bubbles in the airlock also stopped around day four..... has it stalled? Shouldn't it be done in a week? Is my cellar too cold? Freaking out but not sure if I should wait or pitch more yeast, or maybe everything's fine but I didn't start with a high enough SG so I have to deal that this is now 3.2% beer?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me!

Beer does not typically ferment as low as wine or mead. 1.012 would be a moderately dry beer as far as final gravity goes. Very dry would be 1.005. Beer won't get to 1.000 unless there is something in there other than saccharomyces contributing to the party.

You fermented at a reasonable range of temps, but on the lower side. 15C / 59F is a little chilly for some ale yeasts. 18C / 64F is right in the middle. I don't see an issue, although a touch warmer might have eked out another gravity point. One week is definitely long enough for a low gravity wort to fully ferment.