First all grain brew: Hop Fiction Clone - BrewDog

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matheos

Reaction score
Hi guys!

I recently got myself a Klarstein Maischfest 35L brewing system, but I am yet to try it. My plan is to brew the "Hop Fiction" brewdog clone based on this recipe: PROTOTYPE CHALLENGE - HOP FICTION - BrewDog Recipes

The main reason I am making this post is because I need some help clarifying the recipe. I have entered it into brewfather, just for fun, but I noticed that the IBU was way less than what the recipe states. The recipe says 40 IBU while the calculator says only 21 IBU (tinseth). I know there are many different formulas for calculating IBU, but as I have no experience, nor does brewdog state what formula they use, I cannot know for sure what to believe. To achieve 40 IBU tinseth in brewfather, I added an additional bittering addition of 8g of Engima 18,6AA hops to the recipe: Brewfather.
I have entered the hops according to my own hops' AA values, except for Amarillo and Mosaic which I do not currently have at home. I know these values may differ, but they would have to differ A LOT in order for the given additions to reach 40 IBU tinseth.
The minutes of the additions are not very specific in the recipe, but from reading the exportable RAW beerXML file, I got the minutes 60 and 0 which I use in my recipe. The duration of the dry hop is just a guess.

What do you guys think? Does the brewdog recipe seem to use tinseth, rager or some other formula? And, would you recommend I add my enigma addition or skip it?

Other than that, any tips for my first all grain? :)

Is your brewing equipment on the program accurate? Is the kit batch size the same as you entered on the program?