English PA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rtwdonald

Reaction score
I am just looking for any comments on a English Pale Ale recipe I’m thinking of brewing. I’m new to making my own recipes, but I’m looking to make a sessional beer. I want to use golding hops as I am going to be growing them this summer.

Basic Information
Batch Name: Golding PA
Brewed By:
Style: American Pale Ale
Batch Size: 23.00 L
Boil Time: 45 min
Initial Boil Volume: 15.0 L
Mash Method: Extract
Brew Date: 1/27/18
My Rating: 0/10

Typical Style Characteristics
Style: American Pale Ale
O.G. 1.045 - 1.060
F.G. 1.010 - 1.015
ABV 4.5 - 6.2
IBU 30 - 50
SRM 5 - 10°L
Color

Calculated & Measured Statistics
Calculated O.G. 1.041 (72% Efficiency)
Calculated F.G. 1.011 (72% Yeast Attenuation)
Measured O.G. 0.000 (0% Actual Efficiency)
Measured F.G. 0.000 (0% Actual Attenuation)
ABV 3.9%
IBU 40.7
SRM 7.1°L
Color

Malt Bill
Malt Name Weight PPG SRM Type
Light Dry Extract 2.00 kg 1.044 8.00 Extract/Adjunct
2-Row Malt - 1.75°L 1.00 lbs 1.038 1.80 Steeped Grain
Caramel/Crystal Malt - 20L 1.00 lbs 1.035 20.00 Steeped Grain
Wheat, Flaked 1.00 lbs 1.035 2.00 Steeped Grain

Mash Rest Profile
Rest Temperature Time Type Details

Hop Bill
Hop Name Time Added Weight AA% Type
Goldings (U.S.) 45 min 1.50 oz 5.0% Pellet Hop
Goldings (U.S.) 15 min 1.50 oz 5.0% Pellet Hop
Goldings (U.S.) 0 min 1.00 oz 5.0% Pellet Hop

Yeast Details
Yeast Strain Quantity Attenuation Flocculation
Safale US-05 Fermentis Dry Ale 1 72 Low– Medium

Dates
1/27/18 Brew Date

Notes

Exported from Fermenticus Brew Log v2.6, 2/24/18

Sent from my iPhone

I have a couple suggestions that might not make much difference in your beer so you can just ignore them if you want plus a small (ok, nit-picking) correction.