Adjusting psi after force carbing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

olotti

Reaction score
So I just kegged a neipa, I’m new to kegging and this is my 4th kegged batch with my 2 tap keezer. So I pressure transferred from carboy to keg and the connected gas to keg and used 20 psi into the out post rocking it gently for 5 min. Disconnected and put into keezer for 4 hrs. Hooked up gas to serving pressure of 10psi and the first pours while tasting good and like there is some carbonation had no head and no little carbonation bubbles. So I cranked the psi up to 20 thinking I’ll push more gas into this while it’s hooked up and see what happens. An hour later there’s now little bubbles streaming up and minor head. So is this just a time thing for the beer to fully carb I was just under the impression again being new that with force carbing that after a few hours the beer would be duly carbed and ready. Side note the last beer I kegged I forced at 30psi and rolled it for 5 min and did the same set at 10psi and it was overcarbonation and it took days of bleeding off and dropping the psi till it came out perfect and lost that force carbing bite to it. So basically I’m asking if I set it 20 for tonight and lower it to 10psi Tomm morning will it carb or do I have the wrong thinking that force carb will yield a perfect pour in a few hours. Sorry long post

A brief force carb will not result in perfectly carbed beer.