A quick "hello" and intro

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

msujack

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I am new to this thing called home brewing. I guess this "beer" stuff is quite popular! :rockin: Anyhow, I am new to the sport and love the site. I am a typical noob with a starter kit and a Mr. Beer Kit (received both as Christmas gifts) and have batches fermenting in both right now. Pale ale in the Mr. Beer, and a True Brew Malt Extract Amber kit working in the ol' bucket. I even bought my next brew kit (Wheat), which I am going to mix in some blueberry stuff for flavoring once I have bottled my first batch. I am, by no means, an expert, but I wanted to share a few things learned:

First off, read "The Joy of Home Brewing" even if you have gotten underway and have brewed some successful batches. I am sure there are other books out there that work fine too. I know I have read the thing a couple times and I pick up new bits with each re-read of a section.

Ask questions and don't assume. LBS can be awesome and they WANT to help. I asked the process of adding the blueberry flavoring and he told me the ins and outs of the particular product I was looking at, when to add, how much for less than over-powering results, etc.

Make a plan. Know where all your stuff will be before you need a place to set something down, pour this into that, or get something out of the way.

Wash and sanitize everything in your brewing area to get started. You don't want to reach for a spoon, funnel or anything else and think "crap, did this get sanitized???"