freezing hop pellets

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DMac53

Reaction score
I grow hops and dry and freeze them, but I was wondering if I can freeze hop pellets as well. Now and then I find a good deal on quantities of hop pellets and thought if I weighed them out into ounce bags, could I freeze them like whole hops???? Any hop experts out there?

The freezer is the only place you should be storing hops. I'm no expert but I think you can trust me.

A vacuum sealer is a wise investment.
Hops ain't cheap, and the prices are creeping up.
I buy 8 oz. bag pellets and seal / freeze what I don't use. Much cheaper than the 1 oz. bags.

A vacuum sealer is a wise investment.
Hops ain't cheap, and the prices are creeping up.
I buy 8 oz. bag pellets and seal / freeze what I don't use. Much cheaper than the 1 oz. bags.

I agree with SEndorf! I bought a vacuum sealer for the purpose of buying hops in larger quantities since they are much cheaper that way. Once I open the bag for a brew I measure out the rest in 1oz increments and vacuum seal them up ASAP and place them in the freezer. Like others have said, I'm no expert either but I believe hops (cones or pellets) should be stored in a freezer only.