Iodine Test Failed with adjuncts

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HomebrewHandicapper

...likes to drink and gamble
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I just brewed Biermuncher's Cream of Three Crops last weekend and after a 90 min mash I did an iodine test and failed. I figured my thermometer was out of whack so I checked, but it was fine. Decided to just give it more time. At two hours I redid the test and failed again. I tasted the wort and it was very sweet though, so I vorluafed and sparged anyway. My preboil gravity was .008 points above my estimated at 1.038 so I did get good conversion.
This is my first time brewing with flaked maize, minute rice, and rice hulls. I guess I'm just wondering if any or all of these make an iodine test unreliable? Thanks.

maybe all the rice and maize gave a lot of starch in the mash, and it has not been all converted in sugar

maybe all the rice and maize gave a lot of starch in the mash, and it has not been all converted in sugar

Once the starch is gelantinized, conversion occurs rather quickly. More likely that the starch from the adjuncts did not completely gelatinize, so were not available to the amylase for saccharification. Starch from different sources gelatinizes at different temperatures, which is why some grains need cereal mashes. Flaked grains are pre-gelatinized.

Brew on :mug: