How do I add flavours ie banana, cherries, oak chips etc?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

snakehipsbrodie

Reaction score
Still getting my head around this as I'm new to the game but when do you add the fruit to get the flavour, if at all?
Love cherry beer so would I just throw loads of cherries in my fermenter or is this the secondary stage?
Any tips would help! Cheers!

Probably better luck if you'd posted in the beginner's forum but here's my 2 cents:

fruit is generally best added during secondary (it's what secondary is for, otherwise not generally needed). the yeast has a tendency to ''scrub" the flavors out of the finished product so you want to do it after primary fermentation is mostly done.

depending on the style, you can get banana esters in wheats depending on the fermentation temperature. otherwise, add the puree to secondary (same with cherries). fruit's got a lot of bugs on it, so a puree followed by a quick stove top pasteurization is best. my lhbs has canned fruit puree for wine kits, if you have that available that'd work. another option is to purchase frozen fruit (freezing damages the cell walls, allowing more extraction I believe). depending on the fruit, you may need to add quite a bit to get the flavors to carry over to the finished product.

is there something specific you're wanting to do/aim for?