Adding Metabisulfite

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

leader716

Reaction score
Hey everyone just a quick question and this is my first time posting. Been reading and observing for a while now. I have been working on a apple mango wine for the wife. I may have messed up, not sure.

I started the primary fermentation off in a bucket, started with apple cider and mangos. I let it set exposed to air for about 24 hours before pitching the yeast and primary fermentation seemed to go well. After about 2 weeks in the primary fermenter the sg was 1.028 and held steady at that gravity for a few days. I added in potassium metabisulphate at this time. Then I racked it the next day and added Potassium Sorbate and Sparkolloid to the carboy that i racked into.

About 2 more weeks have now passed, while it was sitting I noticed that the fermentation was still going on. I did a test today and found the the SG was not at 1.012. I also tasted the sample it seems to taste alright to me.

Please correct me if I am wrong but the potassium metabisuplate should have killed any yeast that that was present in the wine when I added it. Since this isn't what happened is it safe for me to add more to the wine? I used 1.8 tbps when I originally added to the 6 Gal of wine in the carboy.

I'm not as worried about the clarity at this point, I know that can take some time to clear up. I'm more concerned what to do about the presence of fermentation that is still ongoing.

The metabisulphate will sterilize the yeast and keep them from replicating, but NOTHING will chemically stop an active fermentation. You need to ferment out completely, then treat with chemicals, then back-sweeten to taste.