Can I use kegs and CO2 to eliminate oxygen and clarify my beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SuperX

Reaction score
I am a total kegging noob but have a nice Sanyo for a kegerator project that I want to use.

I want to ferment in my buckets/carboys and use the racking cane to rack from them into a clean and CO2 filled corny keg through the beer out post. This should put the beer in the keg without exposure to O2. Once in the keg, I will 2ndary / dry hop and then transfer the beer to a CO2 filled serving keg through a filter. Some beers may also get a little more hops in the serving keg.

My goals are to keep my fermenters free for use, avoid light and O2, and have super clear beer on tap. I would also like to be able to store beer in the kegs under CO2 until I want to tap it or until it is finished maturing (big porters, etc).

Has anyone taken this approach? Will this work? Any Gotchas?

Thanks,

Crystal

I would connect CO2 to the keg fill it and purge all the oxygen out and then using the racking tube fill the keg with the tube in the bottom to eliminate oxygen. Just keep a layer of CO2 above the beer. I haven't tried putting it through the out post, I'm not sure how you would make that work. would the keg have co2 pressure on it?

Anyways I do go from primary to keg and put co2 on the beer and let it sit until I'm ready to tap it. I also always dry hop in a keg with a stainless steel dry hopper and I have noticed a difference in how much stronger the aroma is in the finished beer(not huge but noticeable). I do pretty much exactly what I think your looking to do and I would say it's had a positive impact on the beer, especially my IPA's.