Charlotte NC Water

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ClemsonDV

Reaction score
I am pretty new to All-grain, and two out of three of my first batches were pitched. My last one is not terrible, but i often find that is has an off taste at the end. I have even noticed this in a local breweries Golden Ale.

Right now I use a Camco RV Water filter on my garden hose, and I am wondering if I need to attack the problem chemically. Our water is generally a high pH (7.9-9), so should I try bringing that down with distilled or bottled or chemical treatments.

I always use Safale US-05 (most brew ales). Any suggestions?

Is your garden hose safe for drinking water? Hoses are made of really nasty chemicals, many of which are carcinogens. When left out in the heat for an extended period of time off gassing and leaching could be exponentially worse.

Lowe's and Home Depot sell hoses rated safe for drinking water. Even then, I would not leave the hose outside. Keep inside and use it for brewing water and then store it away.

As for the Camco. I'm sure it will work great at filtering out the chlorine but may not filter out the tastes associated with the drinking hose. It may also filter out other things beneficial to the wort. I would see about getting a local water report and using a water addition calculator to add calcium or salts, etc.

The pH here in Wilmington, NC is also high (7.89 for our source). We find that adding gypsum to the mash to be beneficial. Also, are you using any vinyl tubing for your hot water/wort transfers? I can't tell you how many times I've tasted a homebrew from someone that has used vinyl hose, not rated for hot liquid transfer.