Keg Pressure Bad. 1st Go at Kegging

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rossypete

Reaction score
Alright Guys. I need your help. As much as I can get. I am new to brewing and new to kegging. I decided to go all out from the start. I have purchased the beginnings of a keezer, got a CO2 tank, two kegs. Newbs paradise.

I have an IPA in the keg. Let it cool down and then read around on here for the best way to Force Carb. I hooked the gas line up, put the keg on it's side. Rolled it for 4-5 mins. The gas sounded like it was going into solution. I unhooked the gas, put it back in the keezer and let it sit over night. This morning I went to let off some CO2.... and there was hardly any in there. Is this normal?

I think I am losing some CO2 when I have the gas hooked up, but I soaped the keg top and the stems and no bubbles. "Beer Geek Nation" said I should have beer coming out of the release valve and that when it stopped, to hook the lines back up at serving pressure and let it sit another 24 hours.

Let me know what y'all think... any help would be awesome, this beer is gonna break me.

Ross.

Well, it's normal for the co2 to disperse into the beer (that's why you keep the gas connected, so that the beer can absorb more co2), but I wouldn't suggest rocking or shaking it unless you like foamy beer. (Shake a can of coke to see what I mean).

I'm not sure why you think you have a leak- but you did the right thing by checking all the connections with soapy water. If you don't find one, you may not have a leak. I have no idea who Beer Geek Nation is, or why they would say you should have beer coming out of the pressure relief valve, as you certainly should not!