Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Spa panel question
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2012, 04:54 PM   #1
johnp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SD
Posts: 137
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default Spa panel question

Hey guys I'm still in the research stage of an ebrew setup and I don't have any electrical knowledge.

Ive searched but I couldn't find the answer to this: If I went with a 60 amp spa panel, can I just hook that up to the 220 line that I have running from a 30 amp breaker in my house's main panel? Is it that easy? Are there any instructions on how to do this floating around?

Thank you!


johnp is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:00 PM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Yes you can do that. However I'd like to ask why a 60A Spa Panel? You could save a little money and get a 50A Spa Panel. After all you will be feeding power to it from a 30A breaker anyway. What outlet will you be using for your brewery - a 3 prong or a 4 prong outlet?

Tell me more...

P-J


P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:31 PM   #3
johnp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SD
Posts: 137
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J
Yes you can do that. However I'd like to ask why a 60A Spa Panel? You could save a little money and get a 50A Spa Panel. After all you will be feeding power to it from a 30A breaker anyway. What outlet will you be using for your brewery - a 3 prong or a 4 prong outlet?

Tell me more...

P-J
I'm sorry, I misspoke, it's a 20 amp breaker in my main panel.

I mentioned 60 amp spa panel because I don't know what I'm doing, lol. 50 amp it is. I'm planning on 4 prong because I thought it was safer?

Edit: heres some more info: my naivety is the reason I'm planning on buying the ebcII from high gravity instead of building a control panel myself. So hopefully I can at least manage to wire up the spa panel and that'll be all i'll have to avoid screwing up.

I'm planning on a 2 vessel herms system where the hlt will double as the bk. So just one element and one pump.
johnp is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:41 PM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnp View Post
I'm sorry, I misspoke, it's a 20 amp breaker in my main panel.

I mentioned 60 amp spa panel because I don't know what I'm doing, lol. 50 amp it is. I'm planning on 4 prong because I thought it was safer?

Edit: heres some more info: my naivety is the reason I'm planning on buying the ebcII from high gravity instead of building a control panel myself. So hopefully I can at least manage to wire up the spa panel and that'll be all i'll have to avoid screwing up.

I'm planning on a 2 vessel herms system where the hlt will double as the bk. So just one element and one pump.
Sorry. I'm not familiar in any way with the ebcII. Wish I could help. (But not with that. No dissing on it. I just know nothing about it.)

P-J
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:14 PM   #5
johnp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SD
Posts: 137
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

I don't need help with the ebcII, it just plugs in and needs 220v and 30 amps. I was just looking for help wiring up a spa panel that can accept a 4 prong plug since my main breaker is only 20 amps.
johnp is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:20 PM   #6
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Sorry:

Forgot to mention the wiring for the 50A Spa Panel:



This provides to 30A protection from the mains breaker and the GFCI protection using the Spa Panel.

P-J
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:24 PM   #7
johnp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SD
Posts: 137
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Thank you p-j! So do I just need to replace my 20 amp breaker with a 30 amp (non-gfci) breaker then?
johnp is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:26 PM   #8
BeerguyNC61
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 559
Liked 69 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

I just have to ask this and sorry if it has been covered to death before.....

Why only a 30 amp breaker in the main if the SPA is 50 amp? Isnt that a mis-match?
BeerguyNC61 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:27 PM   #9
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnp View Post
I don't need help with the ebcII, it just plugs in and needs 220v and 30 amps. I was just looking for help wiring up a spa panel that can accept a 4 prong plug since my 220 breaker is only 20 amps.
20A??? Wow, you are severely limited. I was thinking you had at least a 30A - 240V feed...
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:30 PM   #10
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnp View Post
Thank you p-j! So do I just need to replace my 20 amp breaker with a 30 amp (non-gfci) breaker then?
WE NEED TO TALK.!!!

PM me and I'll call you.


P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS