Belgian Tripel and Using O2 for Aeration

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1854huwer

Reaction score
I’m very new in brewing beer and have a question regarding the fermentation process.
I just brewed my 3rd batch of beer and decided to brew a Belgian Tripel. I decided to purchase an aerating stone for this batch and off course oxygen.
The entire brewing process went without any issues. When it came to using the air stone, I thought I recalled reading or seeing a video that said 10 seconds of O2 was all that I needed, but since I close the lid on the primary fermenter, I have read that you aerate with O2 you should add anywhere from 30 seconds to 2 minutes of O2 to your wort.
Obviously I’m a little concern after 3 days that I may not achieve the appropriate final gravity.

The airlock is showing signs of process, but it did take 30 hours before any sign of CO2 coming through the airlock.

My question is, if I don’t achieve the expected final gravity as indicated on the kit instructions, is it worth moving forward with the batch of beer, since it could take up to one year before its drinkable?

Side questions:
What are your thoughts on the length of time in a primary fermenter for a Belgian Tripel?
If a secondary fermenter is used, what length of is optimal and at what temperature?
Thanks in advance for your suggestions
Doug

Don't worry about the oxygenation, with 30 seconds of pure O2 you probably gave it much more aeration than 90% of homebrewers (myself included).

If it were me, I'd leave it in primary for a month then bottle it up. Others made have other suggestions.

not sure why you think it would take a year to be drinkable