My Ranco controller will only go to 43F! Help please. - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > My Ranco controller will only go to 43F! Help please.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2012, 10:30 PM   #1
Joeneugs
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
Bay area, CA
Posts: 82
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts



I have a couple Bohemian Pilsners in my fermentation fridge right now, and I'm having a tough time bringing them down to lager temps (35-40F). I set my dual stage Ranco down to 35 with a one degree differential between the heating and cooling (34 and 35), but the fridge seems to click off as soon as it gets down to 43.

I'm using one of those old Hotpoint refrigerators. Anyone else have this problem? It has been very warm in my garage the past few days, but I would think it would just keep running until it gets down to where I set it. Why is it turning off? Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:11 PM   #2
david_42
 
david_42's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2005
Oak Grove, Oregon, USA
Posts: 25,597
Liked 155 Times on 145 Posts


Remove the Ranco and use the refrigerator's control. 35-40F is nominal for any fridge. This will also let you know if the problem is the fridge itself.
__________________
Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:16 PM   #3
jtejedor
Recipes 
 
Sep 2010
Las Vegas
Posts: 651
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts


Yeah does the fridge have its own thermostat control? Maybe that is kind of overriding things.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 12:29 AM   #4
Joeneugs
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
Bay area, CA
Posts: 82
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Hmmm... these seems like good possibilities. I have the internal control of the fridge dialed up to the coldest setting. I guess I thought the Ranco would override that and keep it running until the temperature probe read 35 F or so. Am I wrong to assume this? I just unplugged the fridge from the Ranco and plugged it back into the regular outlet, and left the probe taped up to the side of the carboy. I'll post back later and see if it changes things.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 12:53 AM   #5
eobie
 
eobie's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Mount Holly, NJ
Posts: 205
Liked 14 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeneugs
Hmmm... these seems like good possibilities. I have the internal control of the fridge dialed up to the coldest setting. I guess I thought the Ranco would override that and keep it running until the temperature probe read 35 F or so. Am I wrong to assume this? I just unplugged the fridge from the Ranco and plugged it back into the regular outlet, and left the probe taped up to the side of the carboy. I'll post back later and see if it changes things.
All the ranco does is turn the fridge on and off. It does not directly control the refrigerator.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 11:40 AM   #6
Joeneugs
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
Bay area, CA
Posts: 82
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


So what you mean is that even though the fridge is on (I can tell because the light inside turns on when I open the door) the compressor that runs the cooling is turning off because of some internal control? Is there any way I can over ride this so that the compressor will run until I get down to the proper temp?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 01:40 PM   #7
day_trippr
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Stow, MA
Posts: 18,391
Liked 3239 Times on 2417 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeneugs View Post
So what you mean is that even though the fridge is on (I can tell because the light inside turns on when I open the door) the compressor that runs the cooling is turning off because of some internal control? Is there any way I can over ride this so that the compressor will run until I get down to the proper temp?
Unless you actually bypass the internal thermostat on any chilling unit (fridge, freezer, doesn't matter) an external controller will never get that unit any colder than the internal thermostat allows. In your case it sounds like the internal thermostat is limited to 43F.

A couple of options: you could find the wires to the internal thermostat, disconnect them from the thermostat and wire them together, at which point the unit will entirely depend on the external controller. Or, you may be able to adjust the internal thermostat to extend the range downward. Check this thread out for the latter...

Cheers!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 02:25 PM   #8
microbusbrewery
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
microbusbrewery's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,865
Liked 220 Times on 177 Posts


+1 what day_trippr said. My kitchen fridge's temp setting ranges 33F-46F. My kegerator in the garage is an old fridge someone gave me and it's set around 38F. So if you can't get it below 43F with it set on its coldest setting, it makes me think you have a bad thermostat (in the fridge, not on the Ranco). There might be a coarse adjustment screw on the fridge thermostat that you could try adjusting to get the temp lower, otherwise I'd do as day_trippr said and bypass it altogether.
__________________
http://www.microbusbrewery.org/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 02:25 PM   #9
Joeneugs
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
Bay area, CA
Posts: 82
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Wow. Thanks for that link! I already read through the first 13 pages, and it seems to be exactly what I need. I guess since I already have the controller, the best thing to do would be to disconnect the internal thermostat altogether. Would the compressor automatically turn on as soon as the fridge turns on? (if being controlled externally?)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 01:40 PM   #10
Joeneugs
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
Bay area, CA
Posts: 82
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Well I got to the thermostat, but I'm unsure how to properly disconnect it. It's not connected by wires, but these single prong plug type things (sorry... I'm a really lousy electrician). Can I just yank them from the thermostat and let them dangle? Day trippr said something about wiring them together in his post above, but how would I do this?

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet another Ranco Q.... JPFuller Fermentation & Yeast 3 03-18-2012 05:21 PM
Ranco Controller MikeDelta1 Fermentation & Yeast 5 04-24-2011 08:31 PM
Ranco 2 stage controller settings? ebaynote Fermentation & Yeast 15 08-02-2010 05:17 PM
Where to find a Ranco Temp Controller? bgough Fermentation & Yeast 3 01-31-2010 08:33 PM
$35 Ranco Substitute? Red Clay Fermentation & Yeast 6 10-28-2009 12:43 AM


Forum Jump