What do you use as a fermenter?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phil1747

Reaction score
I am new to this whole game and really enjoying it me and a few buddies are all doing small batch ~5 gal brews and i am looking to going bigger, i have everything i need except a bigger fermenter. I dont want to use 3, 6 gal carboys because i will have 3 different beers no matter how accurate everything is. I want to know what people are using as a fermenter and how much you have into them? anyone using another keg? I have no problem getting a few friends and finishing another one off and doing some altercations to it. Thank you any input would be helpful and if you see this posted in a few other areas sorry just trying to get some input

a lot of people who go bigger use conical fermenters. there's a thread here somewhere about super-cheap HDPE conicals based on water tanks from a farm supply.

I put 6.5-7 gallons into 1/4 bbl kegs (tall sanke kegs) for my 'normal' batch size (filling two 3 gallon kegs at the end). I've also used a 50L sanke keg to ferment about 10 gallons to fill three kegs. If you want to get enough out to fill two (or three) 5 gallon corny kegs, then I would go with a 1/2 bbl sanke keg and use Fermcap in the batch. You should be able to ferment close to 15 gallons that way, getting about 14 out at the end (maybe a bit more). You can either go real simple and use a large universal bung in the opening or an orange carboy cap (to use CO2 to push the finished beer out at the end). Or you can get one of the sanke fermented kits from Brewer's Hardware.

Search your local craigslist for people selling kegs, or hit up ebray. I know of a local source for kegs that are 100% legit/legal. You might be able to find one in your area too.