50amp GFCI Spa panel safe at well below 50amps? - Page 3 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 50amp GFCI Spa panel safe at well below 50amps?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2013, 04:01 PM   #21
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,159
Liked 211 Times on 181 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Maltose View Post
60 Amps
Then you can do what I described for the 50a breaker and 6awg wire in the last post.

Also, note that with the 50a GFCI spa panel you will need to design your control panel to live within 50a. You could go with a 60a GFCI spa panel if you needed the extra 10a of headroom.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:04 PM   #22
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,159
Liked 211 Times on 181 Posts


Maltose, you have a 60a main breaker, and a 50a GFCI spa panel. What do you want your brewery panel to support (element size, how many at once, PIDs, pumps, etc.)?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:04 PM   #23
Maltose
 
Maltose's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
Frederick, MD
Posts: 471
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh

Then you can do what I described for the 50a breaker and 6awg wire in the last post.

Also, note that with the 50a GFCI spa panel you will need to design your control panel to live within 50a. You could go with a 60a GFCI spa panel if you needed the extra 10a of headroom.
Yeah I've basically got all the parts for a 30A panel so I'd like to feed it with only 30

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:20 PM   #24
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,159
Liked 211 Times on 181 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Maltose View Post
Yeah I've basically got all the parts for a 30A panel so I'd like to feed it with only 30
You may want to check out this thread. http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/has...-panel-397746/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 05:27 PM   #25
Maltose
 
Maltose's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
Frederick, MD
Posts: 471
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Let's say I keep the 50A coming in....where would I be running my wire after it comes into the panel at 50A? I'd probably hard wire 6/3 with ground into the panel that would go into a first circuit breaker.

Thanks for everyone's help so far.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:30 PM   #26
BadNewsBrewery
 
BadNewsBrewery's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Severn, MD
Posts: 1,244
Liked 129 Times on 103 Posts


I did something similar (ish) - 50a (6ga) from panel to spa panel to control panel. 6ga hits contactor, goes from there to 4 distribution blocks (Hot A, Hot B, Neutral, and Ground). 10ga from the Hot A / B a very short distance to 2 internally mounted DIN 25a breakers and 1 15a breaker. From those, appropriately sized wire to individual components. You could do the same and survive, or put a 30a breaker in the Spa Panel like jeffmeh shows in the link above.
__________________
Building a Bad News Brewery - eHERMS

2014 - 70gal
2015 - 72gal

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:00 PM   #27
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,159
Liked 211 Times on 181 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsBrewery View Post
I did something similar (ish) - 50a (6ga) from panel to spa panel to control panel. 6ga hits contactor, goes from there to 4 distribution blocks (Hot A, Hot B, Neutral, and Ground). 10ga from the Hot A / B a very short distance to 2 internally mounted DIN 25a breakers and 1 15a breaker. From those, appropriately sized wire to individual components. You could do the same and survive, or put a 30a breaker in the Spa Panel like jeffmeh shows in the link above.
That certainly works. I would expect the 30a breaker with all 10awg would be less expensive than the two 25a breakers with 6awg, particularly if there is a long run.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 10:53 AM   #28
BadNewsBrewery
 
BadNewsBrewery's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Severn, MD
Posts: 1,244
Liked 129 Times on 103 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh View Post
That certainly works. I would expect the 30a breaker with all 10awg would be less expensive than the two 25a breakers with 6awg, particularly if there is a long run.
Agreed. I did mine because I want to run both elements at the same time so I needed the full 50a capacity. If OP only wants 30a, there's no reason to run 6ga. The easiest (cheapest?) thing to do would be to replace the 60a panel in the main breaker, run 10ga to the spa panel and then to the control panel. Even in a relatively short run it'll probably pay for the cost of the 30a breaker in savings on wire, not to mention the smaller size is way easier to work with!
__________________
Building a Bad News Brewery - eHERMS

2014 - 70gal
2015 - 72gal

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice, panel not GFCI protected Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 25 02-01-2012 12:36 AM
will this GFCI panel work? NoCornOrRice Electric Brewing 4 01-12-2012 06:15 PM
Two 2000w on 120v 50amp Circuit? seatbelt123 Electric Brewing 13 01-10-2012 09:53 PM
GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too... jdlev Electric Brewing 23 07-26-2011 01:01 AM
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM


Forum Jump