Non-Denominational Winter-Related Holiday Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TBar

Reaction score
Recipe Type
Partial Mash
Yeast
Safale US-05 (dry)
Yeast Starter
rehydration only
Additional Yeast or Yeast Starter
N/A
Batch Size (Gallons)
Original Gravity
Final Gravity
Boiling Time (Minutes)
IBU
Color
Deep Brown (approx 22 SRM)
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp)
4 days at 68F
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp)
7 days at 68F
Additional Fermentation
N/A
Tasting Notes
spices balance well with wheat body and Goldings hops
This is my first attempt at posting a recipe, I will adjust as needed. I've only been doing AG for about six months...this batch was partial mash because I wanted to try a modified "brew in a bag" for the first time and was unsure of my efficiency (ended up w about 75%). Recipe was made with Brewsmith software. This is my first original recipe that I love so much I want to share it.

Grain Bill (I ground approx 25% finer than normal since I was doing brew in a bag):
5.25 lbs pale 2-row
8 oz Caramel/Crystal 80L
8 oz Honey Malt
4 oz Chocolate Malt

Extract/Adjuncts:
3 lb Dry Dark Malt Extract
3 lb Dry Bavarian Wheat Malt Extract

Hops (all East Kent Goldings pellets @ 5.9%)
1.5 oz bittering boiled 60 min
1.25 oz flavoring boiled 15 min
0.5 oz aroma boiled 5 min

Other (all spices :
1 cinnamon stick boiled 5 minutes
.75 oz Sweet Orange Peel boiled 5 minutes
0.5 oz fresh Ginger Root boiled 15 minutes
a dash of Nutmeg boiled 5 minutes

Yeast:
Safale US-05 dry packet, rehydrated for 2 hrs, no starter

Method:

Note: I bought a four dollar poly/nylon sheer curtain from W-Mart for "brew in a bag" and it worked perfectly. It was also very easy to clean.

1) Prep 7 gallons of water. I boil mine and let it cool to remove free chlorine.