Extract brew- Old Speckled Hen

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

schia

Reaction score
Anyone in here tried this extract brew recipe by Orfy? I'm new to brewing and would like to try Old speckled Hen in my next brew.

https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f64/old-speckled-hen-21132/

TYPE: Extract and Steep

Batch Size: 5.00 gal
Boil Size: 2.43 gal
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
6 lbs 1.5 oz Pale Liquid Extract (8.0 SRM)
13.1 oz Lyle's Golden Syrup (0.0 SRM)
9.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (60.0 SRM)
2.40 oz Northern Brewer [8.50%] (60 min) Hops 42.1 IBU
0.80 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.00%] (15 min) Hops 4.1 IBU
0.53 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.00%] (5 min) Hops 1.1 IBU

I can't speak to that, but i tried the recipe kit from AHS and thought it was close, but make sure you give it the proper conditioning time to really shine

Hello folks,

I want to brew this Old Speckled Hens ale by Orfy and here is the link to it.

Because this is my 2nd time brewing I'll be doing an Extract brew and I would like to confirm the below steps and get your input and comments.

Here are the ingredients for a 5 gallon batch.
2.9 oz Dememera Sugar

And here are my steps in putting it all together
1. Do I boil the following together Pale Liquid Extract , Lyle Golden Syrup and Caramel/Crystal Malt together for 60min?
2. The Northern Brewer hops - I'll be adding this in after 60min of boil.
3. I presume 0.80 oz Goldings, East Ken at the last 15min of boil and 0.53 oz Goldings, East Ken at the last 5min of boil.
4. Can I substitute demerara sugar with natural brown sugar? are they they same thing?

Thanks in advance for the reply and input to help me put together this great tasting beer.

Hello folks,