Boiling grains

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OPKUTech

Reaction score
Before everyone cringes, I know NOW, that I should never have grains in boiling water due to the release of tannons.

Before I learned that lesson, I was doing a partial mash and when the water hit boil I added my Stout extract and "tea-bag" of grains, and added my hops at 60", 30", 5". Pull grains, Cool down, dump in fermenter, pitch yeast.

My big question is, should I even bother bottling this beer, or will the fact that it's a stout be a bit forgiving?

Thanks

Bad beer is better than no beer! I know I am a noob around here and you might get different opinions but I say if you don't have another recipe waiting to go bottle it and see what happens.

Never toss a batch before it's finished. It may have a lot of tannins and be terrible but because it's a stout, it might hide the flavors good enough to be ok.

what was in the specialty grain bag.. roasted barley, flaked barley, flaked oats, black malt?

what was in the specialty grain bag.. roasted barley, flaked barley, flaked oats, black malt?

I honestly don't remember what he put in there. He just said things like "do you want a dry or sweet stout?" dry "ok, you need (this)".

The bag ended up about as big as a cantaloupe mellon and there was 3 different grains.

Sorry I dont have more info.

It should be a drinkable brew. Might need a little time to mellow out some.
next time just keep the grains at mash temps

Any base grains that you had in there that would need to be mashed would be denatured by the boiling water before it had a chance to convert, so your fermentability will be less than what you want.
Try it now that you've gone this far, and try it when it is finished fermenting. You never know.

I found my grain list: