New House & 240V - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > New House & 240V

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2009, 08:54 PM   #1
illin8
Recipes 
 
Apr 2008
South County, RI
Posts: 437
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts



We are buying a new house and it looks like we may be going with new construction. If, down the road, I decide (which I already want to) to build an E-HERMS system, should I have the electricians wire 240V to the basement AND garage? It's 150A service, this should be enough no?

I really don't know much about electric except rewiring switches and lights.
__________________
South County Brewing Co.
Primaries 1 & 2: Apfelwein
Primary 3: EdWort's Haus Pale Ale
Bottle Conditioning: AHS Oktoberfest, Biermuncher's Centennial Blonde

On deck: Nothing (recently moved/working on the laundry list)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laughing_Gnome_Invisible View Post
Love is not a pink heart on a Hallmark card. It is a curse on mankind in which the male of the species must continually struggle to gain his own happiness by means of satiating the batcrap crazy stupid whims of the lady with the snaky hair.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 09:19 PM   #2
springer
 
springer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Wappingers falls NY
Posts: 4,743
Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts


What I did was run a sub panel to my garage so I can wire 220V and 110 from there for other projects. I went with a 100 amp sub panel because I have a larger air compressor and plan on buying a 220v mig or tig welder in the future. My main service is 200 amp
__________________
'The taxpayer: That's someone who works for the federal government but doesn't have to take the civil service examination.'- Ronald Reagan

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 09:20 PM   #3
camiller
Recipes 
 
Apr 2007
Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,901
Liked 32 Times on 32 Posts


yes, do it. If I were building a house right now I would have at least one 240v outlet in the garage just to get a better air compressor with a 240v motor.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 09:28 PM   #4
HomebrewJeff
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Lincoln Park, MI
Posts: 299
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by illin8 View Post
We are buying a new house and it looks like we may be going with new construction. If, down the road, I decide (which I already want to) to build an E-HERMS system, should I have the electricians wire 240V to the basement AND garage? It's 150A service, this should be enough no?

I really don't know much about electric except rewiring switches and lights.
You didn't mention if you'll be brewing in the garage, but do it anyway. Especially if it's new construction, now is the best time to do it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 09:40 PM   #5
schristian619
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
San Diego, CA
Posts: 574
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


Yes, having a couple extra 240v outlets won't hurt anything and it will allow you more flexibility in the future. 150A will be plenty. A HERMS system does not require very much current, just the higher voltage.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:31 PM   #6
BargainFittings
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
BargainFittings's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Allen TX
Posts: 2,003
Liked 83 Times on 74 Posts


If the utility allows for 200 amp, I personally would have the bigger panel put in. Not any real difference in the cost and allows for more room for dedicated circuits.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:16 PM   #7
friarjohn
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Peoria
Posts: 337
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


I say go with the 200 amp service, cheaper to go bigger in a new build then to upgrade later. The price of copper wire wont be going down soon. plus a good selling point later down the road.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:37 PM   #8
LooyvilleLarry
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Louisville,KY
Posts: 965
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


+1 200A This should cost $50 - 100 more at most.
The Subpanel is a good idea

Consider placing a 220V outlet near the door.

Other tips - place a few outlets at 49" off the floor. I do some woodworking, and that makes life nice.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:39 PM   #9
pen25
Recipes 
 
Jun 2008
tulsa, ok
Posts: 976
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


if building a new home. wire it like no tomarrow. cost is minimal to the build compared to adding in the future.

subpanels in both the basement and garage are a must have. two phase to the subpanels that way you can wire 110v or 220.

id also run 4 coax 4 cat5 to each room as well. oh if i can just build me a new home that thing would have so much wiring i wouldnt have to worry about expansion for ever.
__________________
from or living in oklahoma? come join us in the oklahoma group

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:39 PM   #10
LooyvilleLarry
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Louisville,KY
Posts: 965
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


Oh yeah. Consider stubbing out some water out there for a utility sink.

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone know of 1" diameter 4500w 240v heater elements flananuts Kettles, Mash Tuns & Hot Liquor Tanks 10 02-13-2014 02:37 AM
NEW 30A 240v GFCI Plug-in ready to use cord! cyberbackpacker For Sale 19 11-25-2009 03:21 PM
Need advice- Using 240V water heater element for 120V? MTEXX Brew Stands 7 10-29-2009 03:20 PM
Comments - 240v Outlet Install Pangea Brew Stands 8 10-06-2009 06:41 PM
3 Pos 240v Switch illin8 Brew Stands 8 05-20-2009 02:07 AM


Forum Jump