Early start for fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lazalaz

Reaction score
Hi!

This is my first time homebrewing so forgive me if this is a stupid question. About 11 hours after I put the wort in my primary, my airlock started bubbling. About 5 hours later, it just stopped. Its been 2 days now. What are possible problems/solutions?

Thanks!

Hi!

This is my first time homebrewing so forgive me if this is a stupid question. About 11 hours after I put the wort in my primary, my airlock started bubbling. About 5 hours later, it just stopped. Its been 2 days now. What are possible problems/solutions?

Thanks!

Hi! Welcome to the forum.

There are many reasons airlocks bubble or don't- usually there is a small leak somewhere.

I'd suggest taking an SG reading with your hydrometer if you're really worried, or taking a look to see how much krausen you have. You may have a krausen ring where the krausen dropped backed into the beer, if fermentation is finished.

I'd wait about a week before worrying, though. Airlock bubbling isn't a reliable sign of fermentation or the lack of fermentation, and I've had beers ferment out in less than 24 hours if the temperature was very warm.

Even if fermentation is finished, or nearly so, there is still plenty of work to be done by the yeast. They actually digest their own waste products where there aren't any more fermentable sugars for them to eat, so it's good to leave them to it for a week or so before worrying about it.

Thanks for the reassurances everyone! I checked the fermenter and there is a bit of green residue about inches above the wort. Is that the krausen? Also, if I put it in Thursday at midnight, when is it definitely safe to rack over to the secondary?