Volume/calculating the malt bill

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brew Alchemy

Reaction score
Before I get to my question, I just wanted to say how much I really enjoy reading through the threads here at HBT. I haven't shut my computer off since I signed up about two weeks ago....

I'm just getting into AG and my question is about calculating the malt bill. I did a few trial runs on my system with water to guestimate boil-off with the aim of getting about 5 gals in the end. I started with 7 gals, boiled 60 mins. and ended up with 5 3/4 gals @ 190F+. After cooling to room temp (65-70F), I had 5 gals even. I didn't expect a 3/4 gal volume loss to cooling, but it's consistant (I've read in Ray Daniels' "Designing Great Beers" that 4% is a typical volume differential between boil and 60F, but I'm getting a steady 13% difference). Is my kitchen evil?

Anyway, being that intended finished volume is required to determine the malt bill, which volume should I use in my calculations? The 5.75 or the 5 gallons? Thanks!

Even using brewing software, I never had consistant results until I had a feel for my system. I use ProMash to help formulate recipes; I set batch size at five gallons, but I try to put about five and a half in the fermenter.

I don't really have a definitive answer for your question. If you use your stystem enough times, and keep careful notes of all parts of the process from brewing through tasting, you won't need a computer program to design your beers. You'll know how much base grain you need to hit a gravity.