First All Grain Attempt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deadphish

Reaction score
Planning on giving this porter recipe a try. This is my first attempt at all grain after about 10 or so extract brews. Also going to add some vanilla beans to the fermenter for 7 days or so. Although I wont be able to pick up any other ingredients before brew day, was hoping for some critiques on this recipe i came up with.

Style: Robust Porter
Batch Size: 2.20 gal
Boil Time: 30 min
Mash Method: All Grain BIAB

Calculated & Measured Statistics
Calculated O.G. 1.045
Calculated F.G. 1.014 (72% Yeast Attenuation)
ABV 3.7%
IBU 34
SRM 35.7°L

Mash at 154 for 60

Malt Bill
Malt Name Weight PPG SRM Type
2-Row Malt - 1.75°L 3.00 lbs 1.038 1.80 Mashed Grain
Chocolate Malt - 450°L 0.40 lbs 1.034 450.00 Mashed Grain
Coffee Malt - 150°L 0.25 lbs 1.029 150.00 Mashed Grain
Honey Malt - 25°L 0.10 lbs 1.034 25.00 Mashed Grain

Hop Bill
Hop Name Time Added Weight AA% Type
Magnum (U.S.) 30 min 0.25 oz 13.5% Leaf Hop
Magnum (U.S.) 15 min 0.25 oz 13.5% Leaf Hop

Yeast Details
Yeast Strain Quantity Attenuation Flocculation
Safale US-05 Fermentis Dry Ale 72 Low– Medium

I think you need to cut back on the specialty malts by a large margin. Youve got 4.25 lbs total there and 1.25 of which is specialty malts (which are not as fermentable as base malts). I go by a rule of thumb to never exceed 20% specialty malts or else the beer wont get down to its FG and will be cloyingly sweet. Youve got close to 30% there so I could take some of it out