Got wood !

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am a woodworker too and i regularly add kiln dried oak to my IPA. I sanitize about 2oz of thin slices (approx 1/8" thick) and add them to my secondary for a week with the dryhopping.

philjohnwilliams said:
I am a woodworker too and i regularly add kiln dried oak to my IPA. I sanitize about 2oz of thin slices (approx 1/8" thick) and add them to my secondary for a week with the dryhopping.

Tell me, what does that do for the taste? I make mostly ipa's.

Most IPA's aren't traditionally 'smoky. That wouldn't/shouldn't stop you, though, because homebrewing is about experimenting.

That being said, you could probably benefit more from adding them to a maltier recipe like a stout, strong ale, or even a black IPA. In my opinion you need a strong malt backbone to stand up to the smoky flavor/aroma, unless you only add a hint of it, and where is the fun in that?

Another thing, you could try smoking some of malt with your oak on your own. I would use oak sawdust instead of shavings, though, to help expedite the process and to avoid over-smoking or scorching. This might add some more dimension to a beer that you soak wood chips in, or it might be a way to replace that entirely.

edit: I am stupid. In my mind I was confusing 'smoky' and 'woody' or 'oak-y'. This doesn't change my opinions entirely, but oak-y flavors meld in better with other flavors IMO. So you can probably get away with using some straight up chips in an IPA save you don't overdo it.

2 years ago I had a maple bourbon oaked IIPA at Founders during their summer Founders Fest street party.

I've enjoyed every oaked beer I've tried. I think if it's not a crazy dry beer, it should go well.