beersmith question?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ron,ar

Reaction score
I need someone to explain IN SIMPLE TERMS, why I need Beersmith (or a similar tool). I don't doubt that I do, but I am just not sure what all I will get out of it. I have very slow download speed and don't want to download it just for the free trial. I use an aircard for internet access and have to watch my usage. I don't mind buying it if I need it, but do I need it?
I am fairly new to AG and keep seeing that Beersmith is needed and a good investment. Is it a program that helps build recipes? Presently I just ask my LHBS guy for a reccomended recipe and he prints me one out, without me knowing exactly what to compare it to. Hopefully it will help me out in that regard.
Also, does HBT have a glossary of terms in one of the dropdown menus that I am not seeing? I read a post and find myself having to google the term to see exactly what it means and how it applies in the context it was used. I am referring to terms like HERMS and RIMS and decotation etc. This would sure make it easier on us AG new guys. Thanks for any and all replies in advance.
Ron,ar

Simply put, buy it. It's the best money (if not the least amount of money) you'll spend in an all-grain setup.

Beersmith will help you play "what-if" scenarios on recipes, but you're better off investing in books like "How To Brew" and the like if you need assistance on the terminology and process nuances of the hobby.

No, you don't need beersmith.

It's a nice program, full of features and tools, but you don't NEED it.