How often should I Sanitize??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tale Of An Ale

Reaction score
Ok i'm kinda new to homebrewing and have only brewed 3 batches, but i am very cautious when it comes to sanitizing. I hardly keep any of my equipment that i'll be using out of a sanitized solution (primarily 5 gallons of water with iodophor). What I was wondering was if i could ease off on these drastic measure I take and have a rdwhahb kind of attitude or if i should keep up my diligent work. I guess its always better to be safe then sorry but i hate always being tense when i brew due to the fact that i am always concerned about infection to my wonderful nectar of nature that i am producing.

any tips or comments are always appreciated.

brew on my brothers!!

:mug:

Am I understanding this to mean that you actually STORE your gear in sanitizer between uses? That's might be overkill, but...

one thing you might be able to relax on is your boiling gear. No need to sanitize your hop bags, grain bags, kettle, spoon, etc. that stuff is going to be going into boiling liquid and need not be sanitized before use.

-walker

I think a little bit of paranoia is good for you. The last thing you want is to have to toss a batch because you wanted to see how lax you could get with sanitation.

I dont store anything in sanitizer. In fact if you are using iodaphor, it looses its sanitizing properties after a while. I also dont sanitize anything that gets boiled. But I do my best to rinse and sanitize anything else that may have contact with unfermented wort.

- magno