How long should you bottle condition before cooling??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
thats what i figured, i opened one yesterday after about 2 weeks and it was a little flat, but hella delicious. I hate waiting!

Chill only what you will be consuming in the next couple of days. The rest will continue to improve. The normal rule of thumb is that the best beer of any batch is the last one.

Chill only what you will be consuming in the next couple of days. The rest will continue to improve. The normal rule of thumb is that the best beer of any batch is the last one.

+1 to the "Last One"

I'm still a noob, but with a little over 12 brews under my belt I can't think of even one of them that wasn't better @ 2 months. I usually start cracking them open around 3 weeks, but try try not to start drinking the majority after 6 weeks. It's hard for me for sure.

Cheers...:mug:

1 week in primary
2 weeks in secondary
3 week in the bottle
chill and enjoy!
Now you dont have to be patient any longer. You just follow protocall.
Jay

The 3-week "rule" works well for most situations. You need to remember that bottle carbonation/conditioning is a secondary fermentation under conditions that are extremely stressful to the yeast. So they need to be given time to ferment, consume by-products and flocculate under anaerobic (i.e. they can't increase their numbers), high pressure and high-ethanol (toxic) conditions.