Help with a Holiday Recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caber2615

Reaction score
Hello fellow brewers! I am new to brewing and SWMBO asked that I brew her a "Holiday" beer. I did some research and found that Papazians Holiday Cheer was pretty close to what I was looking for. I get to the LHBS and they talked me into buying their "Gingerbread Brown" found here since it was on sale for $20 (I thought $20 for 5 gallons sounds great!) When I put all of the ingredients in beersmith, I found that the estimated ABV is alot lower that I would prefer. OG 1.046 FG 1.015 ABV 4.4%. I messed around with some ingredients in beersmith and can get the ABV up, but Im concerned I will "ruin" the beer. I have a few questions for you guys...
1. Can I raise the ABV by adding something that will give the beer more "holiday" flavor? IE: Brown sugar or Honey? Or should I just add more LME or DME? Thoughts?
3. Both of us love our IPAs. This comes in right around 14 IBUs, would it be ok to add more hops? If so, when and what kind?
2. This recipie came with a small bag of spices mixed together (ginger, cinnamon, cloves) to add to the boil. If I wanted to add cinnamon sticks or fresh grated ginger to the secondary as well...would this make the flavor too over powering, would adding them in the secondary hurt the beer?

Sorry for all the questions, this is my 3 brew and I am trying to expiriment with different things to make these recipies "mine"...

Here is the recipie as is:
6# LME
.5# Special B
.5# chocolate malt
1oz willamate
20 grams "gingerbread" spice

Thanks for any input!:mug: