Brewing on a Budget: Extract, Partial Mash, or Wine

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TVarmy

Reaction score
What are some good recipes for brewing on a budget? I've only done an extract batch so far, but I would be willing to try partial mash. I'm also open to trying wines. I've got a batch of apfelwein bubbling away, and I'm thinking about trying banana wine.

Before you guys say "HOMEBREW IS NOT A CHEAP HOBBY GO BUY A CASE OF NATTY ICE," let me explain that I'm a college student who loves to cook and can food. I like the process and the learning I get about microbiology along the way. I love the craft, but until I get a job, I can't afford to spend too much cash on ingredients.

I'm into stouts and porters, but I also have a tiny palate, since I've only been legal to drink a few months. Any good recipes that could make a 5 gallon batch for between $25-40 would be great. Also great is if it's stuff that's not too challenging for inexperienced palates, as my mom and friends aren't exactly hopheads.

Definitely go with Partial Mash... A partial mash recipe is always going to be cheaper than a comparable extract recipe. BTW IMHO anybody that would be so snobby to tell you to go buy some crap is just a jerk. Homebrewing can definitely be much cheaper than buying commercial beer. Just don't go out and buy every gadget imaginable. An excellent stout is Deception (click link in my signature). Just do the PM version of it. It will end up being under $40.
Edit: Deception is great for the inexperienced palates. I have several friends who don't like most good beer and only drink BMC's, but I have yet to find a person (craft beer drinker or BMCer) who didn't like it.