Partial Grain Ginger Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andrew5329

Reaction score
So I went to my homebrew store planning on following one of the Ginger Ale recipes from this site, however when I got there I started playing around with the ingrediants pretty heavily and I want yall's opinions on the combo.

(this is a copy/paste from the recipe I put together in Beersmith)

Ginger Ale
Spice, Herb, or Vegetable Beer
Type: Partial Mash Date: 4/28/2012
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.00 gal
Boil Size: 2.5 gal
Boil Time: 60 min Equipment: Pot ( 3 Gal/11.4 L)

Final Bottling Volume: 5.0 gal
Fermentation: Ale, Single Stage Taste Rating(out of 50): TBD
Taste Notes: Pre fermentation very sweet, somewhat spicy.

Ingredient Bill
--------------
1Lbs Honey Malt
1Lbs DLME
3.3Lbs Liquid Pilsner extract
3Lbs Clover Honey
.5Lbs Table Sugar
40oz Ginger Root
2 Lemons
1 Irish moss tablet
1oz cascade hops
2.0 packages of Wyeast 1056 (dry)
---------------------------------------

Order:
---------------------------------------
1 lbs Honey Malt (25.0 SRM) Grain 2 10.8 %
1 lbs Light Dry Extract (8.0 SRM) Dry Extract 3 10.8 %
0.50 oz Cascade [5.50 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 5 4.5 IBUs
---------------------------------------------------------------------
3 lbs 4.8 oz Pilsner Liquid Extract (3.5 SRM) Extract 4 35.5 % (30 min Boil)
30.00 oz Ginger Root (Boil 30.0 mins)
2 Lemons, Juice + Zest
2 lbs Honey [Boil for 30 min]
---------------------------------------------------------------------
1 lbs Honey [Boil for 15 min]
0.25 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 15.0 mins)
.5 lbs Sugar, Table (Sucrose) [Boil for 15 min]
10.00 oz Ginger Root (Boil 10.0 mins)
0.50 oz Cascade [5.50 %] - Boil 2.0 min
----------------------------------------------------------------------