Grain mill roller question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jim_reaper1066

Reaction score
Im switching over to all grain and plan on building my own grain mill. If I could drop the cash on milled steel rollers or a crankenstein I would, but being a poor student I need to improvise. Would using something like well pipe casing with a knurled surface work? Its about 0.25" thick, 4" diameter and hard as hell, so I doubt it would ever bend during crushing.

i dont know why it couldn't work with a little effort. i think also that with a large enough diameter, the roller would pull the grain through without having to be knurled anyway. not sure about that, but i would think 4" may be close to large enough. i though someone on here had smooth wooden rollers about that size, and i think it worked. cant remember where that thread was now though.

As much as it sounds like a good idea to use the well pipe it might be hard as hell to get a Knurl on it just because of the diameter. Maybe you could try going to a scrap yard and looks for some raw SS or cold roll for cheap. You'll need about 18-24 inches of 2" diameter. (Worked good for me at least)

think it could just be roughened any with a wire wheel, or maybe bead blaster. i have no idea, just kinda brainstorming. not sure if it would work in practice.

In theory I don't see why not. I'm not sure what the pipe is made out of. If I had to guess (due to lack of knowing) but aren't though pipe made out of a clay like material and not steel?