Creating recipes with Beersmith

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monstar

Reaction score
I have just started using Beersmith, and it really seems like an awesome program. I'm pretty new to brewing. I'm a musician and really love the artistic side of brewing and want to create my own recipes. I drink a lot of beer and am very familiar with a wide variety of styles, and I've done a ton research on the process of brewing and the science behind it.

Here is my question: If I get the gravity, color, bitterness and such to match the parameters that Beersmith sets for the different styles of beer, and assuming I use the kinds of malts/hops/yeast they reccomend for the style, should it come out decent? Or at least something that resembles the style I was going for?

I understand there are many many variables that can influence the turnout of a beer. I have brewed 7 one gallon batches in the last month and they all taste fantastic.*

I just want to know if I can generally trust that (as long as I have a grasp of what a style should taste like) getting the numbers to match while using correct ingredients will give me a decent beer that is somewhat true to the style.

Thanks!*

Here's a tip from an old school style brewer/artist/scientist/engineer...

Write your own recipes for at least 10 or so batches to get acclimated to your system parameters before you let software take over.