How things change.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

david_42

Reaction score
Rummaging though some boxes, I found an IPA recipe from 1998. THREE ounces of hops and no Cascades! That was "out there" for the time. By 2002, we were making Stiffy with 12-14 ounces.

Still miss Guzzleboy.

Guzzleboy was your brewing partner? I assume you made a lot more batches when you had someone to suck it down like crazy.

I don't have a brewing partner, and I almost always brew alone. I do have a drinking partner though, and he makes it hard to keep production up to consumption.

I know that my tastes have changed dramatically since I started brewing. I used to think a hoppy beer was Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, and made almost all malty beers.

I can remember mentioning here on the forum a couple of years ago that Capital Brewery's Blonde Dopplebock was my all time favorite beer. I still like it- but whoa is it a malt bomb! I'm trying to still be open to other beers, but a hoppy beer with cascades is one of the best things I can put in my mouth. Those American C-hops (and lots of them) have changed me. I'm really getting into amarillo hops, too, because I'm loving that "in your face" citrus bite.

^^^
I can relate to that. The first time I had a Sam Adams or SNPA, I didn't like it because it was too bitter. I don't consider myself a hop-head, but I certainly don't think Sam Adams is too hoppy anymore.

Those American C-hops (and lots of them) have changed me. I'm really getting into amarillo hops, too, because I'm loving that "in your face" citrus bite.

I love me some Amarillo. It smells just like a tangerine to me.