A little help with adapting recipes..

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ohiodad

Reaction score
O.k. over the Thanksgiving Holiday I thought it would be a cool idea to do 2 brown ales.. One a Northern English Brown and the other an American Brown.. :mug: So I went to Jamil's recipes and saw he has 2 award winners.. Fed those into Beersmith and this is what I came up with. Anyone have any suggestions or things you might do to change or tweak these before I brew them? I'm still learning beersmith and all grain so any advice you can give me is much appreciated! Thanks for looking!

Recipe 1

BeerSmith Recipe Printout - www.beersmith.com
Recipe: Pilgrim Brown
Brewer: OhioDad
Asst Brewer:
Style: Northern English Brown Ale
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0) Jamil's Northern Brown Recipe

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.50 gal
Boil Size: 7.00 gal
Estimated OG: 1.052 SG
Estimated Color: 19.4 SRM
Estimated IBU: 16.5 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
8.00 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (3.0 SRM) Grain 74.42 %
0.75 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (40.0 SRM) Grain 6.98 %
0.75 lb Special Roast (50.0 SRM) Grain 6.98 %
0.50 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 30L (30.0 SRM) Grain 4.65 %
0.50 lb Victory Malt (25.0 SRM) Grain 4.65 %
0.25 lb Chocolate Malt (450.0 SRM) Grain 2.33 %
1.00 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (60 min) Hops 16.5 IBU
1 Pkgs London ESB Ale (Wyeast Labs #1968) Yeast-Ale

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Total Grain Weight: 10.75 lb
----------------------------
Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Step Time Name Description Step Temp
60 min Mash In Add 13.44 qt of water at 165.9 F 154.0 F