fruity oktoberfest with wyeast 1007

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JBmadtown

Reaction score
I wanted to relay one of my experiences and see if anyone had a similar one.

I am new to brewing as of April. Over the summer I thought it would be great to make an oktoberfest. However, I don't have a fridge for lagering. Therefore, I attempted a hybrid using the wyeast 1007 and a swamp cooler. It was late July.

After 2 weeks in the bottle I thought it was great. A month later and the beer is very fruity. The wyeast site says 1007 can be little fruity at the higher end of the temp range, which I know was one of my problems. This is pretty bad.

Will bottle conditioning at room temp(70 F) with a hybrid strain cause off flavors?

It seems if I leave the beer in the fridge for a few days or more before opening and the fruitiness is even more pronounced. Any thoughts?

1 lb cara45 (told by LBHS it was similar to caramunich)

2 lb pilsen DME
6.3 lb amber LME

1 oz hallertau for 60 min

I tried to make a starter, but my container didn't fit in the fridge so it never settled. I threw the whole thing in. Fermented around 65F although at the beginning it got a little higher. Primary 6 weeks and bottle. OG unknown and FG about 1.015.

Will bottle conditioning at room temp(70 F) with a hybrid strain cause off flavors?

I tried to make a starter, but my container didn't fit in the fridge so it never settled. I threw the whole thing in. Fermented around 65F although at the beginning it got a little higher. Primary 6 weeks and bottle. OG unknown and FG about 1.015.

No, bottle conditioning at 70 shouldn't cause any problems- it's a minute amount of fermentation in the bottle and below any flavor threshold.