What to do with Hopped Extract Kits?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nerbl2001

Reaction score
A relative has given me 10 cans of hopped extract kits (2 Porter, 2 Stout, 2 Pale Ale etc)
Each is 4 lbs. I have never worked with these hopped kits before, I have always used un hopped, added my own hops and specialty grains.

Would it be best to just brew then in 5 gallon batches using 2 cans with no additions? Should I use two can with the additions of specialty grains and hops?Should I use one can plus extra unhopped malt and grains and hops?

A lot of the recipes in Clone Brews and Beer Captured are based on one can of extract plus extra dme, hops, and steeped grains.

You can do two-can batches with excellent results. The most important thing to remember about doing it is to add water to get the proper OG for the style. After that you're all good. Those doubles seem to take quite a while to mature in the bottle as well.
Hope this helps.

nerbl2001 said:
Would it be best to just brew then in 5 gallon batches using 2 cans with no additions? Should I use two can with the additions of specialty grains and hops?Should I use one can plus extra unhopped malt and grains and hops?

Either of the last two sounds fine. For sure, you want to add some grains (even it it's just steeped 2-row) just to give it a spike of freshness.

you could throw some extra hops into the pale ales and make an IPA or something, but the problem is that you never know how much hoppiness is in those cans.

If I had these, and I had two of each kind, I would brew one up with additional DME and see how it was, and then tweak it with grain/hops/etc and use the second can. You'll at least get 5 good batches out of it this way, maybe even 10 good batches. :)

-walker