When to Smack Activator Pack?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alexavery

Reaction score
This is my first time using an Activator pack. I'm brewing tomorrow. The directions say to smack the Activator pack at least 3 hours ahead of time. I assume that means I can smack it tonight before I go to bed. I just want to make sure there isn't a problem with smacking it too early.

Any problems with smacking the thing tonight and then brewing tomorrow morning?

Nope, smack away. Just make sure the packet stays somewhere in the area of 65-75 degrees

what kind of yeast? depending on what time you plan to brew, you may want to do it late tonight or first thing in the morning.

get some other opinions though, because i'm a noob as well. the above is just what i've been told.

what kind of yeast? depending on what time you plan to brew, you may want to do it late tonight or first thing in the morning.

get some other opinions though, because i'm a noob as well. the above is just what i've been told.

I will contridict this advice.

I believe that on the packet, and definitely on the website, it states that 'smacking' is not a requirement, nor does it make any real difference.

It is there solely as a method of determining the viability of the yeast. For example, if you do smack it and nothing happens in 3 hours, it probably is no good.

Therefore, I'd say go ahead and smack it the night before at room temp. If you wake up and it's inflated you're good to go (that's what she said)

I will contridict this advice.

I believe that on the packet, and definitely on the website, it states that 'smacking' is not a requirement, nor does it make any real difference.