Beginner at Cider Making, Making First Batch Tomorrow

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tootorqued

Reaction score
I am a beginner at cider making. I have done a few brews of beer that turned out nicely.

Now I have the cider kit from mr beer. I am not using the cider ingredients in the kit. I have my own ingredients. Basically using the 2 gallon fermenter and that's it. So I am making a 2 gallon brew.

Ingredients:
2 gallons of 100% organic apple cider from whole foods
Brown sugar
100% organic maple syrup
Organic cinnamon sticks

Basically I would like to hear your opinion on how you would make this 2 gallon batch. How much of each ingredient you would put in. I have an idea on what I would do but would like to hear others comments.

I plan on putting all of it in at once on a nice simmer in a pot for about 45 minutes so everything is nicely mixed. Then let it cool down to yeast pitching temperature (which is what for cider?), put it in the fermenter, and pitch the yeast. Now right now I plan on using the yeast that mr beer provides. Will that be fine? I have a homebrewers type shop in town but they don't have a whole lot of yeast to pick from and most is wine yeast. I would like your opinion on that too. Use mr beer or wine yeast? Would you use 1 packet or 2?

I have heard that cinnamon can alter yeast in some ways which is why I got organic sticks. They come in a glass container with about 11, 3 inch tall sticks. Would you put it in the pot with the syrup and sugar or put it in at a different time, maybe after fermentation?

Bottling is another question I have, after fermentation, is it just like beer? Using corn sugar? Can someone explain this process for what to happen post fermentation?