From Central IL - Getting back to brewing after 10 yrs

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

llenrocs

Reaction score
Hey all,

I have been gleaning some valuable info from this board for a few months and figured it was time to introduce myself as I am planning to do my 1st batch after a 10+ year brewing hiatus.

For the time being I am going to continue with extract brewing, but will begin kegging my beer as I distinctly remember not appreciating the bottling process.

I also plan to start experimenting with cider this year as I have about 45 apple trees on my property (some cider specific) that will come into bearing in a few years.

I am glad to see such an active online homebrew community to continue to advance the art and science of brewing on a small scale.

Thanks,

Sean

Brewing 1st beer in 10 years tomorrow - a Liberty Cream Ale from Midwest - very fitting for the 4th. Then I need to get started putting together a kegging system.

Cheers, Sean

I'm in Gridley which is about 15 miles north of Normal. I work over in East Peoria. Anyone here part of the Abnormal Brewers? I was a member for a year or two when I first moved to the area.

i've heard about their (abnormal's) get togethers and they have started putting up flyers in the friar tuck home-brew section, but I have never been.

I've heard mix reviews of how active / snobby they are, so I have taken the time to go check it out. Any other abnormal brewers out there?

Hi There, I'm also from Central IL (Decatur). I'm spending some time reading and learning before I get started brewing in the next couple months. Anyone know any good brew stores in Decatur?