Correct pressure of CO2

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EricS

Reaction score
So I kegged my Weis beer Sunday morning and set it up for force carbonation. This is my first time kegging so I am a bit confused. I did a lot of searching this forum and the web and have found different ways to perform this. The part that most worried me was the equilibrum calculator. I started with the pressure set at 20 psi, it is in my basement which is about 65-68 degrees. The calculator gave me the following results.

Regulator Pressure for Equilibrium

The proper pressure setting is calculated by inputting:
1st.) Enter the VOLUMES of CO2 of keg you are setting up.
2nd.) Input the Average Measured Keg Temperature.
Weizen/Weissbier: 3.6-4.5
Select the two paramaters below and press the CALCULATE to have us compute what pressure is best for your beer's style and temperature.
Average Keg Temperature: (18.9°C) 67°F.
Volume of CO2: Volumes of CO2 3.6

Table of Suggested Pressure Settings for a Beer at a Temperature of 67°F. and 3.6 Volumes of CO2 Your keg temperature is Too HIGH for UNPASTURIZED American beer. It will SPOIL very quickly.
Pure
100% CO2
Theoretical Lowest Pressure Setting 42.7 psi
Theoretical Highest Pressure Setting 45.5 psi
Practical Pressure Setting 44 psi

Is this correct, my beer will spoil at this temp? In a Keg do I have to keep it chilled all the time? And what is up with the pressure?

I checked my keg tonight and the beer was still not carbed, I know only a couple of days but I am getting thirsty. So I upped the pressure to 25psi.

What should I do? Please help.

E