Bottle carbonation without priming

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KevinAthas

Reaction score
So, I'm very new to brewing in general (2 pale ales from extract), and this is my first cider. 4 Gal apple cider from a local orchard, 1 gal of water with 2lbs of white and 2 lbs of brown sugar simmered in, poured that in with the cider and tossed in some campaign yeast from a local brew supply store. Nothing fancy and I’m not expecting it to be amazing, but I have what I think is an odd question. I ran a little test when I took my grav reading a week into fermentation by filling 1 -12 oz. bottle, capping it, letting it sit at room temp for a couple days. Then I popped it in the fridge for a couple more, and out came a sweet and wonderfully carbonated beverage! About 40% of the sugar had been eaten up by the yeast at this point, which is not what I’m going for as far as alcohol content, but my questions is this; is bottling before the primary fermentation is over a way to keep away from a dry cider in the end? I know it’s probably not recommended, but what issues might I run into if I was to bottle when lets say there’s only 20 % of the sugar left? Would I be safe to assume if I taste a sample and it is good, and I was to bottle it right then the product would be sweet as well?

Thanks for any insight!

Actually this method is how I bottled the best cider I ever made....

Do you have a hydrometer? My very first batch I just bottled the suckers right from the carboy at a reading of 1.002-1.004. They carbed up well and had that slightly residual sweetness that rules, which you just don't get from bottle conditioning a dry cider.

This IS the way to get slightly sweet, carbed cider. Just be careful and don't bottle it too high or you will get bombs.