IPA too bitter?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lyacovett

Reaction score
I am still rather new to the brewing world, and I decided to try and IPA. I was going for something along the lines of Terrapins Big Hoppy Monster. I'm not sure if I hit it or not, as this is incredibly bitter. The beer is still good, just more bitter than I expected. Will the bitterness mellow over time, and the flavor of the hops become more pronounced .. if so, how long should I let it age. I tasted it about a week after bottling.

This is the recipe:

4# Amber DME
3# Light DME
1 lb crystal 40L (steeped)

hop schedule:
All cascade hops 6%

2 oz cascade 60min
.5 oz cascade 35 min
.5 oz cascade 20 min
1 oz cascade 10 min
1 oz cascade flam out
1 oz dry hop primary (as soon as I pitched yeast)
1 oz dry hop (1 week in to fermentation, primary)

I used white labs east coast ale (WLP0008)

+1 on the 'green' factor.

Based on your recipe it seems like you have enough hops on the front end to create some very noticable hop flavour and aroma. And your IBU's shouldn't be insane - what was your OG?

Just wait a while, it's probably not ready.

BTW, bitterness will subside over time, but it can take a while. It depends on many factors, but it can easily take over 6 months for a noticable drop in bitterness to occur.
Hop flavour and aroma however will also dissipate, but much faster, one of my recent beers changed drastically after 3 months in that regard. That's why 'Pliny the Elder' says not to age it right on the bottle.

Yeah, I know. I'm a new b.