Need help with kettle losses!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motobrewer

I'm no atheist scientist, but...
Reaction score
So, I brew all grain, calculate for 5.5 gallon batches. My brew process is pretty straightforward, but I always seem to have one issue:

getting beer from the kettle to the fermentor.

I've been leaving about a gallon in the kettle because i don't want all that hop material and break in my fermentor. Right now i'm just siphoning from the kettle. I tried a surescreen once and it plugged up immediately (I use pellets). I tried a funnel with a filter and that plugged up quickly too.

any tips? I'm sick of leaving so much behind.

One alternative, which would involve an extra transfer if you use carboys, would be to use a 5-gallon paint filter and a pail for the first transfer.

I have tracked my boil volumes and came up with my own system for calculating batches. I calculate about 1/4 gallon lost to trub per ounce of hops in the boil. Using this I've greatly reduced trub in my fermenter. My minimum batch size is 5.75. More hops = larger batch size. An IPA with 5 ounces hops is at least 6.25 gallon batch size for me. I get a full 5 gallons into the fermenter.

I think your pot size would alter the measurements but this is something you could do as well. To figure it all out I just measured out how much was left after siphoning for several batches and I noticed it was almost always 1/4 gallon per ounce hops used.

Dump 100% of your wort into your fermenter, trub and all. it settles out after 3 or 4 weeks.

i'm using irish moss and an immersed chiller.

1/4 gallon per ounce? i only have a cheap-o 8 gallon pot. i try to whirlpool and give it 20 min to settle, but my bottom is a bit warped so i don't think it works very well.