peach white grape wine

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dr_al

Reaction score
my wife doesn't like much wine but i picked up this peach/white grape at walmart juice for the kid, i had her smell and taste it and said how about a wine?

she said yes so i have a sample batch going, but i'm wondering how much acid blend to add, i'm still new to the game and learning how things effect taste.

my recipe is
2 gallons of walmart white grape/peach juice
2 cans of welches white grape
1 tsp pectic enzyme
1/2 tsp of tannin
1 1/2 tsp of nutrient
1/2 tsp energizer

enough sugar to bring it up to 1.100

i used half a gallon of the juice for a starter and cotes de blanc yeast, i figured it will dilute that 1.1 down a bit after i add the starter and topping up will knock it down a bit more.

i only used a starter because i read the welches white grape concentrate again and saw contains sulfites, i didn't see sorbate on the list any where, i checked a few times but hey. starter wont hurt any ways...

but back to acid blend, how does 2 tsp sound? other recipes use between 1 an 1.5 tsp per gallon so i figure 2 tsp is at least safe?

Well I went with 2 tsp. I can add more to taste later when I learn how it should taste lol.

1 Gal Welchs/walmart White grape peach juice
1-1/4 lbs granulated sugar to desired
2 tsp acid blend
1 tsp pectic enzyme
1 tsp yeast nutrient
Cotes Des Blancs wine yeast

Back sweeten at end with same juice reduced to 1/2 volume

This is a 1 gal recipe so scale accordingly. It is really popular at this house

Awesome I'll start a gallon of this as well.

Same juice reduced, Do you simmer to reduce?

Same juice reduced, Do you simmer to reduce?