$10 primary

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

summersolstice

Reaction score
I mentioned this on another thread and thought I'd post a photo since I just started a new wine day before yesterday. This is a 7-8 gallon plastic trash pail like they sell at any discount store. I think I paid $10 for it and I've been using it for three years. I drilled a 1" hole and added a spigot. The shape is convenient and you can't beat the price. The second photo shows active fermentation in a 16L wine kit and a straining bag floating on top (I punch the bag down twice a day).

IMG_1140.JPG

IMG_1141.JPG

What is the plastic recycle code number for the container?

Also, is that a plastic, or cloth, liner between the juice and the container?

If it is plastic, doesn't it defeat the spigot?

Pogo

I looked at the code when I bought it but I don't remember. I know it isn't food grade but it's the same code they use for 5-gallon paint pails from Home Depot. There is no lining - just the trash can. I'm covering it with a t-shirt and there's a straining bag inside.

Yknow, I read all this stuff about food grade this, and that and sterilization and what not and here you are obviously making lots of wine with garbage can, t-shirt, and a bungee cord.

Am I being overly cautious or what?