Indoor All Grain Brewing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dionysos911

Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone has come up with a method for indoor all grail 5 gallon full boils? I have seen DB stovetop method but I don't think I can get 7+ gallons to boil on my stove top with breaking something.

I was thinking of setting up a 5 gallon hot tank, a 7-10 mash cooler, and run a pump to the hot tank from a kettle. Trick is finding a way to boil that much indoor.. any ideas?

Im not an expert but I brew all grain indoors... It does take some time to get the water up to temp but I can do it. I dont use a sport cooler as a mash tun, I use one of my 7 gallon buckets with a braided line. I batch sparge so I dont worry about a hot water tank... When Im mashing, Ill heat my sparge water at the same time. Once I collect my first runnings, my sparge water is ready and in it goes... at that time the wort is already warm/hot so bringing the wort to a boil doesnt take as long. hope this helps

Yeah, Id bet on electric, 240VAC and a hood to vent the steam... you can do it that way.

I do mine indoors on my range with pots on all 4 burners, takes time too but you need to use lids on the pots or for my big soup pot I brought an aluminum pizza pan to use as a lid, otherwise that pot would probably NEVER boil. Once you get them hot enough to boil you can remove the lids for boil off.

Out of curiosity, and not to thread hijack, but what would someone be looking to spend to install a vent/exhaust to a brewroom? Its the only thing keeping me from going electric currently

I do indoor 5 and 10 gallon batches, using a 5500W water heater element to heat water and boil.