Good American wheat recipe?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HOOTER

Reaction score
I'm about to brew my next batch, an American wheat, and being that I'm a newbie I figured it might be wise to get some different perspectives on my recipe before I blow my coin. I pretty much made it up myself from recipes and info I've gathered over the last few weeks.

3/4lb. crystal 20l
3/4lb. American wheat
2lbs. wheat DME
3lbs. light DME
1lb. Honey
1/2oz. Horizon pellets (60min)
1/2oz. Tettnanger pellets (20min)
1/2oz. Tettnanger pellets (5min)

I'm going for a refreshing, well balanced summer brew. Does this fit the bill?
When should I add the honey? What type of yeast should I use?

HOOTER said:
I'm about to brew my next batch, an American wheat, and being that I'm a newbie I figured it might be wise to get some different perspectives on my recipe before I blow my coin. I pretty much made it up myself from recipes and info I've gathered over the last few weeks.

3/4lb. crystal 20l
3/4lb. American wheat
2lbs. wheat DME
3lbs. light DME
1lb. Honey

I'm going for a refreshing, well balanced summer brew. Does this fit the bill?
When should I add the honey? What type of yeast should I use?

I cant help you with the honey because I know nothing about and hate the taste of it. However the recipe part If it were me I wouldn't steep the wheat and use more Wheat DME.

Wheat DME is already 55% wheat, 45% pale malt. Not sure if you knew this? If you do 2lb wheat DME and 3lb pale DME, you are going to have a beer that is about 80% pale malt, as opposed to wheat...