Carbonation Levels Kegging - Need Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wbeeson23

Reaction score
So I am fairly new to kegging and have a question. A quick rundown of my set up is a keezer, temp controlled with a ranco at +/- 1 degree set to 40 F. I transfer my beers to the keg at 40F prior to hooking the gas up to it. My issue, as the title states, is getting the carbonation level correct in the beer.

I started off following the pressure volumes provided in the draught quality manual and using their beer line length formula to size my lines. The 3 different kegs I've done are all way under carbonated after 4 weeks using the set it and forget it method. A week ago after continue research, I then saw the little asterisk below the chart that stated to increase the psi 1 unit per every 2000 ft. I am in Denver so I added 3 psi. This made it better but not by much.

My question is this. Has anyone else had to increase the amount of gas over the charts recommendations to get their beers carbonated to the appropriate levels? I cannot find anyone that has. I am trying to go for 2.4 vol's (a typical microbrew APA) and am current at 14.2 psi (11.2 + 3 for altitude) at 40F and it comes off as a 2.0-2.1 beer. This is after raising from 11.2 to 14.2 and letting it sit for 1 week. I pour a glass and there are still minimal bubbles forming. I am going to add another 2 psi and let it sit another week but I just don't know if this will help.